A Lesson in Stress Relief

For my birthday Wes gave me a gift certificate for a massage. The only thing I had to do was book the appointment. I decided to wait until the end of the school year because I figured that would be the perfect way to start my summer vacation. Turns out I am a genius! My man is also a genius for picking the perfect gift for me. Now, I had never had a professional massage before and didn’t know what to expect. So the first thing I wanted to know was about etiquette. Do I tip her? If so, how much? With Wes’s help we learned all about the proper etiquette when receiving a professional massage such as tip 15% and use the term “massage therapist,” not masseuse.  Click here to read a web site that was most helpful.

I am sure some of you probably think I am being silly, but I was really nervous. However, after arriving and getting settled on the massage table the massage therapist worked her magic and I felt relaxed. She gave me a full body massage. Saying that this massage was incredible does not begin to describe it. There are so many pressure points I didn’t know existed such as your ears. Yes, your ears have certain pressure points that when massaged feel amazing!

The other thing I didn’t realize was how many different types of massages there are. My therapist studied something called Tuina. It is an Asian medical method of using the arms, hands, fingers, elbows, and knees as tools for treating diseases and illnesses. Click here to read more and see what it’s all about.

So after an hour and a half of bliss I left feeling more relaxed than ever. My final advice: have someone drive you home after the massage. Oh how I didn’t want to drive anywhere after such a wonderful experience. My body and mind was not ready to battle with Jacksonville traffic and drivers.

For anyone who wants the same experience I had call Rosemarie Allen with The Body-N-Balance at (904)327-0457 or (904)645-6529.

Lesson Learned: A professional massage cures anxiety and muscle pain caused by stress; Therefore, schedule a massage on a consistent basis. =)

2 thoughts on “A Lesson in Stress Relief

  1. Pingback: LIFE in 2011 « Habitual Learner

Leave a Reply

