Happy birthday, Canada!

Happy birthday, Canada! Oh how I miss my homeland. In celebration of my country I have put together a list of unusual facts that I didn’t know about this gorgeous multicultural country. I came across a few websites that had some humorous and interesting information about Canada.

Hopefully, as a citizen of the world you already know that Canada is an independent country and not part of the United States. Additionally, we are not all Eskimos who live in igloos and Canada is a bilingual country. Furthermore, Canada’s literacy rate is one of the highest in he world at 99%.  We’re smart, eh? Oh and we say “eh” a lot.

Lessons Learned:

 

1. Canada did not have a national flag until February 15, 1965, when its maple leaf flag was adopted by parliament.

2. The capital city, Ottawa, was the deadliest city in North America because of the violent nature of the loggers.

3. Canada also contains 9% of the world’s water supply.

4. Canada is also the largest producer of a refreshingly sweet dessert wine called Icewine. (I am embarrassed that I didn’t know this.)

5. Canada is also home to the world’s smallest jail, located in Ontario. It is only 270 square feet.

6. Canada has just one desert in British Columbia. The desert is only 15 miles long.

7. The narrowest house in North America is 6 Donnacona Street in Quebec City and is only 3.7 m wide.

8. There are more donut shops per capita in Canada than any other country.

9. Canada has more inland waters and lakes than any other country in the world. (I know! It’s a pretty country, eh?)

10. USA buys more oil from Canada that from Saudi Arabia. WOW!

11. Canada does NOT have the highest national debt (Our neighbor does though)

12. The Americans tried to take over during the Revolutionary War, marching on Canadian cities. That didn’t work out very well. They tried it again in the War of 1812, which saw trained American soldiers repelled by farmers with pitchforks. When the farmers got tired, some babies came out and threw rocks, and the Americans ran home crying. Canadians remain the only people to bring America to its knees on its home soil, but that’s more about Celine Dion in Vegas than the War of 1812. (LOL)

13. After the Second World War, a Canadian invented parking meters. You’re welcome for that. Other innovations to come out of Canada include the zipper, basketball, chocolate bars, hockey, the light bulb (look that up, you’ll see I’m right), Superman and Trivial Pursuit. Also, tons of other great stuff.

14. The desert is only 15 miles long, with over 100 rare plants, and over 300 rare animals. It is also the only desert in the world that has a long boardwalk, for people to walk on!

15. Canada is also known to have the highest quality of life in the world, according to the United Nations Human Development Index.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Canada!

  1. Happy Canada Day to you! It wasn’t until my recent travel to Italy that I realized how much I love Canada and how fortunate I am to have been born in such a great country.

    I really liked your Can-facts. I didn’t know we had more donut shops per capita than any other country. Go, Timmy’s!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! I too did not realize what an amazing country I come from until living in the southeastern United States. The culture her is hard to cope with sometimes. I am looking forward to going to Ottawa next month. Usually, I travel with a lot of room in my suitcase so that I can bring food home. i.e. Timmy’s coffee. =)

  2. I love it! Canada definitely is a great country. Those facts reminded me of Rick Mercer’s “Talking to Americans” segment on “This Hour has 22 Minutes.” So ridiculous and awesome!

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I hope you’re able to get out on your new bike as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

