What is Art?

I have always made art a major part of my life. My grandfather was a painter. I have been painting since I was 10. I experimented with pastels, and charcoal, but my one true love is oil paint. I love the smell of the paint and the textures I can create. This past week has been art filled. Whenever I go to any art event I always make a point to observe others around me. I watch their faces and listen to their comments. Who doesn’t love people watching?

Last week Wes and I went to a Wednesday Art Walk. We looked at tons of modern art. Some of it was really fun and inspiring and some was so shocking that  it kinda made you wonder what was going on in the artists head when they produced that piece of work. Visit MOCA’s website to view some of the things we got to see. Check out Stranger in Paradise and What a Doll (Wow!)

Tonight, Wes and I went to the Cummer Art Museum. I insisted Wes go seeing as he has never been. He loved it!

While both of us were admiring this painting I overheard a girl say, “You know there’s really nothing to painting. It’s just shapes and colors.” Uh no! It’s not that simple, hon. You pick up a paint brush and create something and then tell me it was simple. While paintings are made up of many shapes and colors, it’s more complicated than it may seem. I think it would be an insult to da Vinci, Van Gogh, or any artist for that matter  if you said their work was just some shapes and colors.

Oh and last week Wes and I had our own little painting session where he created a spectacular work of art inspired by recent events. Check it out! I am still working on my Day of the Dead skull. Almost done though!

So, after all this I ask you what is art? This is a question reminds me of one my favorite movies, Mona Lisa Smile. I this movie Julia Roberts plays Betty Warren who teaches an art class to a challenging group of young women.

Check out this clip from the movie where Ms. Warren challenges these women to explain what constitutes good art and determine when something is allowed to be called art.

LESSON LEARNED: Art is a product that is appealing to YOU. 

3 thoughts on “What is Art?

  1. “I think it would be an insult to da Vinci, Van Gogh, or any artist for that matter if you said their work was just some shapes and colors.”

    Absolutely! Painting is NOT easy. Anyone who thinks they can reproduce a da Vinci or Caravaggio with a flick of her brush is nuts!

Leave a Reply

