Tis the Season for Baking

One word comes to mind when I think of fall: BAKING!

The smell of pumpkin, cinnamon, hot apples, and chocolate. Oh my!

I had Veteran’s Day off from work and my goal was to bake among other things of course. Pumpkin bread was at the top of my list. The other thing I wanted to bake was a breakfast  frittata. Wes makes me breakfast on a daily basis. He is the breakfast king! The man loves his eggs and knows how to use them. However, I thought that seeing as I had the day off I would make him breakfast for a change.

This breakfast required a bit of preparation. First, I needed to go to the grocery store to get my ingredients. Wes informed me that we needed eggs as there were only three left. I went to the grocery store and bought bacon, milk, an onion, mushrooms, fruit, and cheese. I didn’t realize until I arrived home that we already had milk, onions, and mushrooms. Oh and that’s right. I forgot the eggs! I hate CRS (Can’t remember stuff). The breakfast frittata has to be prepared the night before. Luckily I could make it with the three eggs in the fridge. To make a long story short my first frittata turned out magnificently scrumptious!

Breakfast Frittata

Ingrediants

1. 3 eggs (beaten)

2. 3 slices of multi grain bread (tear into half inch pieces)

3. 6 slices of Oscar Meyer Fully Cooked Bacon

4. 1 cup of sliced mushrooms

5. 1/2 a teaspoon of mustard powder

6. 1/2 teaspoon of salt

7. 1 cup of milk

8. 1/4 cup of tomato basil feta cheese

9. quarter of a large sweet onion (chopped)

Directions

  1. Cut bacon into half inch pieces.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together mustard powder, salt, eggs and milk. Add the bacon, bread cubes, mushrooms, onion, and cheese, and stir to coat evenly. Pour into a greased round baking dish. Cover, and chill in the refrigerator for 8 hours, or overnight.
  3. The next morning  preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  4. Cover, and bake 45 to 60 minutes.
      

VOILA! I made breakfast for Wes and I. We enjoyed the fritatta two days in a row with fruit and a slice of cinnamon raisin bread.

After breakfast I had some school work to do. Before lunch Wes and I worked off our fritatta by going for a run. Then, we treated ourselves to Quiznos. Do you know that almost all their sandwiches have bacon?! Yummy! Unfortunately, our eyes were bigger than our stomach and we felt overly full afterwards. We have decided that Quiznos sammies are perfect for luch because they are a lot smaller than a full sandwich. After lunch Wes went home to work and I went back to the grocery store to get eggs because I was an idiot and forgot them the day before. I needed them for my pumpkin bread. I was determined to use leftover Libby’s pumpkin bread mix from last year. Libby’s pumpkin bread kit comes with a mix of flour and sugar as well as canned pumpkin and icing. I threw the icing away. The kit has enough for two loaves. I made one last year and it turned out perfectly. This year I decided to add a few things. I added Canadian maple syrup, almond slices, chopped walnuts, and raisins. Oh and I threw in a banana that was going bad. No wasting of food in this house!

Prelude: It is important to note the snack I had before I started baking. A few weeks ago Wes won a gigantic gift basket filled with cookies, chocolate, cocoa, prezels, etc. Goldmine! I managed to snag the Godiva truffles. Can you say heaven? I treated myself to one of these before making the pumpkin bread. Of course this snack had to be combined with a glass of wine. Ok, so now I was ready.

     

Ingrediants
1. Libby’s Pumpkin Bread Kit
2. 1/2 teaspoon of ginger
3. 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
4. 4 eggs (beaten)
5. 1/2 cup of water
6. 1/2 cup of maple syrup
7. 1 cup of raisins
8. 1 cup of chopped nuts
9. 1 cup of vegetable oil

Directions

Combine eggs, water, oil and maple syrup in a bowl. Mix in remaining ingredients well. Pour into a loaf pan. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and bake for 60-65 minutes. Use a toothpick to test for readiness.

NOTES: The kit calls for 1 cup of water but I have changed the amount of water based on my experience. I added the maple syrup and realize now that I should have reduced the amount of water to 1/2 a cup. The bread took forever to bake! After 1 hour and 30 minutes it was still too moist in the middle. I took it out of the oven and cut it into three pieces. I also realized that my bread pan was too small for the loaf. Guess that just means I get to take a trip to Home Goods to buy a new loaf pan. Sweet! The next morning I actually re-baked the bread for another 30 minutes. Yes, I put that sucker back into the oven! After the short re-bake the loaf was perfect. I also bought some apple butter at the grocery store because I have never tried it and saw a recipe where someone put it onto the bread. Apple butter is so yummy! However, I don’t think it is meant my pumpkin bread as it is way too rich in taste already.

          

Lessons learned: 1. Bring a list to the grocery store so you don’t forget the eggs!  2. Balance your wet and dry ingredients  3. Buy a bigger loaf pan   4. Godiva Vanilla Truffles are to die for!    5. Apple butter is yummy   6. Re-baking works!

What’s next you ask? Wes bought me phyllo dough. I want to make homemade spanikopita.

Leave a Reply

