The Cookie Spell

Cookies put me under their spell a long time ago. Their soft sugary goodness just warms my heart and sends happiness shooting through my body from my head to my toes. Oh my!

Today, is my day off and I have had maple peanut butter on my brain for the past couple of weeks. Now was my chance to make my dreams a reality. I had to do a bit of research because I have never used maple syrup to make cookies. I found a website called I Live on a Farm to be most helpful. I changed the recipe quite a bit but it was definitely a good foundation to start.

    

Canadian Maple Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies (Say that 3 times fast)

Ingredients

  • 1 stick softened butter
  • 3/4 cup real Canadian maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large eggs
  • 1 cups natural style chuncky peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup Quaker Oats
  • 1/2 cup Nestle Toll House chocolate chip mini morsels

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Beat the softened butter with maple syrup until creamy.

Add vanilla, eggs and peanut butter. Beat well, until creamy again.

Skeletor helped with dishes. He cleaned the peanut butter off this spoon well. What a sweet boy.

In a separate bowl, stir together the salt, soda, oats, and  flour until well mixed. Add gradually to peanut butter mixture, mixing very well after each addition.

Add chocolate chips and mix well.

Because of the maple syrup, the dough will be stickier than normal cookie dough, but it needs to be firm enough to hold its form during baking.

Roll heaping tablespoonfuls of the dough into balls, place on ungreased cookie sheets. Using a fork dipped in flour, press each cookie with the fork to make a criss-cross imprint on top. *Note: The whole fork imprint thing didn’t work out for me.

Bake for 12-15 minutes; remove from oven. (Don’t forget to turn off the oven!)

Let cool on cookie sheet for two or three minutes before removing to cool completely on wire racks. (I cooled them on cutting boards because that’s all I have. We are not fancy around here.

This recipe should make about 24 cookies.

Lesson Learned: Maple syrup is for more than just pancakes and waffles. It makes phenomenal cookies!

Always taste test your cookies before letting anyone eat them. I had to test two of them. Wes helped with the taste testing too. They are irresistible!

9 thoughts on “The Cookie Spell

  1. Yum! You combined chocolate chip cookies, oatmeal cookies (sans raisins), and maple syrup cookies. Wunderbar!

  2. Have you ever made these gluten-free? I’m always looking for new gluten-free recipes for my daughter who has celiac disease. This looks pretty easy to do. I’d just have to swap the flour, I think. There are now gluten-free oats available, so I’m thinking I’ll give this a try…

Leave a Reply

