Work It Out

I am getting stronger! Here me roar! Wes and I joined a gym the first week in January. It has been so exciting. Just Fitness 4 U is less than a mile from our house so it is beyond convenient. The membership is also way cheap being only $21 a month. I have never been a member of a gym so this is a new experience for me. You can imagine my excitement when I received my gym card. I have to scan it whenever I enter the gym. I am fancy!

Why did I join a gym? I love running but I need variety. All the running goals I set for myself in the past two years I met. I am now ready to make new goals and try new exercises. I was also attending yoga at Lululemon as well as working out to my own yoga video at home. On top of all this Wes and I love to bike ride and kayak. While all these activities are awesome I realized there was something I was lacking, strength. While training for the Marine Corps Half Marathon I did not keep up with the strength part of my training plan as well as I should’ve. As a result I started to have pain in my left hip whenever I ran. Running is great exercise but there is a reason these training plans require a couple days a week of stretching and strengthening exercises. I concluded I am a lean, fit, but weak individual. My muscles need some serious toning!

I have been using my new gym membership to keep up with my running as well as stretch and strengthen. Wes has been my personal trainer. He is much more savvy about how to work out than I. What does my workout look like? First, I spend 30 minutes running at 6 mph on the treadmill. The treadmills have t.v.’s. Once again, fancy! I burn approximately 270 calories on the treadmill. After the 30 minutes I do click the “cool down” button and slowly decrease my speed for a few minutes. Then, it is off to the weight machines.

I work out on the tricep and bicep machines lifting little weight. I haven’t turned into Wonder Woman yet but I am on the way. Whenever I approach these machines the weight knob is inserted at the bottom and I have to move it almost all the way to the top. Some people are apparently Hulk strong! Additionally, I do leg extentions and leg curls. Finally, I work out my  abs. I do at least 30 reps of everything. It makes for a good 1 hour workout. I am not going to lie. Pain follows my amazing workouts.  The day after our workouts Wes and I walk around the house like a 90 year old couple. I am totally feeling the burn! However, I can already tell that my body is slowly adapting to the exercises which is a great feeling. I am gaining strength! The most challenging exercise is the leg curl. Apparently the muscles behind your thigh are rarely used and therefore beyond weak. At least this is the case for me. The leg curl machine definitely humbles me every time. 

With a new work out plan I had to update my work out playlist. Updating my work out music is motivating. So what is my new power song? Lady Gaga’s Born This Way. The lyrics are motivating and the song gets me moving. Check it out in the video below.

LESSON LEARNED: Joining a gym is mentally and physically rewarding.

One thought on “Work It Out

  1. I never even thought about nose/ mouth breathing until I read a post about it on here, now that I am aware of it, I have been trying to breathe through my nose also… It is very hard!

    i do combo nose/ mouth but if I am tired or running hard, I usually go back to mouth

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

