Breaking It Up

My second semester with Drexel has commenced. The stress is mounting! I want my master’s degree so bad I can taste it. I am taking two classes, Education and National Development and Culture, Society, and Education in the Comparative Perspective. Whew! Wes has set me up with a spiffy work station. Hello Mac! Last semester he bought me a fancy new office chair. I am good to go.

I tend to spend anywhere from three to four hours ata time studying. I don’t know about you but as a teacher I am not used to sitting for this length of time. It has been made very clear that I need to take breaks. What should you do on a break so that you feel re-energized to get back to work? Eat! Well, at list this has been my solution. It is working like a charm.

What are your favorite snacks? Personally, I am obsessed with Emerald nuts. Last week blueberries were on sale. We just so happened to have some vanilla yogurt in the freezer. Plus, I have Hershey’s light chocolate syrup in the fridge. Have you guessed my snack yet? Oh my!

   

I am a chocoholic. Always have been and always will be. Well I bought a bag of bite size Dove dark chocolates. They have inspirational little messages on the inside of the wrappers. It’s like a chocolate fortune! It’s great when I am tired and have a lack of motivation. I usually will have just one as a snack. Even though it takes so much courage not to eat like ten at a time.

  

Blueberries were still on sale this weekend. Woot! I decided I have to bake something. I made low fat blueberry muffins. These will make an exceptional snack, especially with a bit of apple butter spread over top. Of course the apple butter no longer makes them low fat.

1 1/4 cup of wheat flour

1 1/4 cup of oats

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of cinnamon

1/2 tsp of nutmeg

1 cup of applesauce

1/2 cup of brown sugar

2 tsp canola oil

1 large egg

3/4 cup of blueberries

1/2 cup of  crushed walnuts

6 tablespoons of plain non-fat yogurt

2 tablespoons of 2% milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Insert muffin cups into muffin baking tray. Spray muffin cups with PAM. In a large bowl combine flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Next, in a medium bowl combine applesauce, egg, milk, yogurt, sugar, and oil. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add applesauce mixture. Fold in blueberries and nuts. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake 16-18 minutes. Enjoy!

  

LESSON LEARNED: Snacks are a necessity for any hard worker. Don’t forget to take a break. 

2 thoughts on “Breaking It Up

Leave a Reply

