Margarita Cake

Happy Easter, Passover, and spring to all. My father and step mum invited Wes and I over for Easter dinner. We were in charge of dessert. This means research was in order. I wanted to make something with fruit as it is spring. Wes made us both margaritas a week or so ago so I thought why can’t we make a margarita dessert? I Googled so many things. Finally, I used about three different recipes to make my own Maragrita Cake. If you are looking for an irresistible and easy spring/ summer dessert this is it!

Ingredients:

1 can (ready to use)white buttercream frosting (I used Betty Crocker)

1 package of strawberry cake mix (I used Duncan Hines because it was BOGO! More on that later.)

1 1/4 cup non-alcoholic, margarita mix

1 tablespoon lime zest

1/4 cup of tequila

2 tablespoons triple sec liqueur

Fresh Strawberries

Instructions:

Preheat oven 350 degrees. Spray two 8 inch pans with vegetable pan spray

Cake:

Follow cake mix package instructions for making cake in two 8 inch pans, but replace the water called for with margarita mix. I would also replace the oil for apple sauce. See low fat instructions on the box. Add lime zest, tequila, and triple sec. Divide batter into two pans. Bake according to cake mix package directions. Cool on rack 10 minutes; remove from pans to cool. Frost when cake is completely cool.

Frosting:

Thin spread white frosting to spread consistency. Spread on bottom layer. Top with remaining layer. Finish frosting top and sides of cake. Garnish with lime twists and strawberries. After you frost the cake slice strawberries to put on top. Bam! Eat it and enjoy.

  

The cake turned out amazing and it was so easy!

        My dad and Roxanne had seconds! I on the other hand did not have seconds because I was too full from the scrumptious lamb that Roxanne made. Skeletor had his first lamb bone thanks to Roxanne. He is loving it! We are freezing it and giving it to him for only about 20 min. at a time with supervision. Turns out the boy likes lamb! As I mentioned above the cake mix was BOGO (buy one get one) so for free I got Duncan Hines’s Pineapple Supreme cake mix. I am still debating how to use it. I bought pineapple at the grocer this weekend. I am thinking I could put Malibu coconut rum in with the mix. Please let me know your ideas!

Lesson Learned: Spring/ summer desserts are fun and rewarding to create. They just require a little research. Margarita cake is super easy!

I leave you with an appropriate theme song by Jimmy Buffet. Enjoy and cheers! I can’t wait to get to the Keys in May.

One thought on “Margarita Cake

Leave a Reply

